1-30 of 75 entries
Opinion: Texas Gas Programs Not a Solution to Climate Change
Texas Gas Programs Not a Solution to Climate Change
The main provider of natural gas to the Austin area has a profoundly flawed climate policy, and is spending substantial funds on greenwashed conservation programs

Paul Robbins, Nov. 24, 2021

Opinion: Surviving Whole in a Broken System
Surviving Whole in a Broken System
Caregiver violence is a form of abuse that affects thousands of Texans with disabilities. And yet, there is a constant need for more caregivers.

Renee Lopez, Nov. 18, 2021

Opinion: Why Local Farms Matter
Why Local Farms Matter
Lucia Sewing-Cole of Good Apple on how to be a more ethical food consumer

Lucia Sewing-Cole, Nov. 11, 2021

Opinion: Where Did the Money Go?
Where Did the Money Go?
Rep. Vikki Goodwin questions why more than $5 billion in federal funds intended to help students has been diverted into the state coffers

Vikki Goodwin, Nov. 4, 2021

Opinion: PACE Program May Provide Pandemic Lifeline to Businesses, Nonprofits, Private Schools
PACE Program May Provide Pandemic Lifeline to Businesses, Nonprofits, Private Schools
Travis County Commissioner Brigid Shea and Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector Bruce Elfant make the case for a clean energy program

Brigid Shea, Sept. 30, 2021

Opinion: Austin’s Sustainability Efforts Need Anti-Displacement Tools
Austin’s Sustainability Efforts Need Anti-Displacement Tools
An environmental policy advocate explains why urban planning and increased sustainability efforts must address gentrification as Austin's people are just an integral to Austin as its infrastructure is.

Chelsea Gómez, Sept. 23, 2021

Opinion: Bring Back East Avenue – Downtown Is No Place for a 20-lane Death Machine
Bring Back East Avenue – Downtown Is No Place for a 20-lane Death Machine
The case for running freeways around cities, rather than through them

Chris Riley, Sept. 16, 2021

Opinion: Oak Hill Road Plan Is Taxpayer Abuse
Oak Hill Road Plan Is Taxpayer Abuse
The argument against TxDOT's plan for a freeway flyover at the intersection of U.S. 290 and Texas 71

Carol Cespedes, Sept. 16, 2021

Opinion: Investing in Working-Class Communities Is Central to Our Public Safety
Investing in Working-Class Communities Is Central to Our Public Safety
Travis County D.A. Jose Garza argues we must invest time and resources the root cause of crime – instability

José Garza, Sept. 9, 2021

Opinion: Texas Republicans Want to Jail People in Poverty Indefinitely and Call It “Reform”
Texas Republicans Want to Jail People in Poverty Indefinitely and Call It “Reform”
Almost 75% of people sitting in Texas jails have not been convicted of any crime; they simply can't afford to go home

Kenna Titus, Aug. 26, 2021

Opinion: The Task for UT Staff and Faculty This Fall
The Task for UT Staff and Faculty This Fall
Building confidence in students will need to be a priority for the UT community

Avani Chhaya, Aug. 12, 2021

Opinion: Administrative Bureaucracies Make for a Not So Warm Welcome
Administrative Bureaucracies Make for a Not So Warm Welcome
On the anniversary of her first year in town, a new resident reflects on what's complicated her time here

Sara Collins, July 22, 2021

Opinion: Texas Schools’ Drug Policies Aren’t Working
Texas Schools’ Drug Policies Aren’t Working
Schools are contributing to the school-to-prison pipeline by continuing to use drug education that has been proven to be harmful

Dhiya Dhandapani, July 8, 2021

Opinion: Looming Climate Disaster Is Obvious. What Are You Doing About It?
Looming Climate Disaster Is Obvious. What Are You Doing About It?

Martin Luecke, July 1, 2021

Opinion: We Must Not Turn Back the Clock on Voting Rights
We Must Not Turn Back the Clock on Voting Rights
Parties should be competing to win more votes, not working to keep voting down

Tom Lopach, June 17, 2021

Opinion: Invest in Women and Families, Not New Jails
Invest in Women and Families, Not New Jails

Judge Andy Brown, June 3, 2021

Opinion: Prop B Passed. Now What?
Prop B Passed. Now What?
We must prioritize long-term solutions for homelessness over easier-to-implement changes such as temporary shelters

Elizabeth Heitkemper, May 27, 2021

Opinion: Conspiracy Theorists Are Central to the New Voter Suppression. I Got to Know One of Them Too Well.
Conspiracy Theorists Are Central to the New Voter Suppression. I Got to Know One of Them Too Well.
Op-ed: Austin City Council Member Greg Casar traces a fringe candidate's vendetta against him to Trump's Big Lie

Greg Casar, May 20, 2021

Opinion: Time to Retrofit Our City for the Transit System Voters Approved
Time to Retrofit Our City for the Transit System Voters Approved
Mayor Pro Tem Natasha Harper-Madison offers a manifesto of sorts for transit-oriented development

Natasha Harper Madison, May 13, 2021

Opinion: We Still Haven’t Solved Austin’s Public Transit Problems
We Still Haven’t Solved Austin’s Public Transit Problems
People don't get out of their cars to use public transit because it's inefficient

Barbara Epstein, May 6, 2021

Opinion: Texas' Anti-LGBTQIA Bills Are Cruelty Aimed at My Transgender Patients
Texas' Anti-LGBTQIA Bills Are Cruelty Aimed at My Transgender Patients
A physician caring for transgender patients and the sister of a transgender man explains how discriminatory policies impact lifelong health

Aliza Norwood, April 29, 2021

Opinion: The Extreme Anti-Abortion Agenda Being Pushed Forward at the Texas Lege Is Harmful and Cruel
The Extreme Anti-Abortion Agenda Being Pushed Forward at the Texas Lege Is Harmful and Cruel
Texans deserve the trust and the power to decide what is best for them, their bodies, and their futures

Courtney Chambers, April 15, 2021

Opinion: A Tragedy, Upon a Tragedy, Upon Another Tragedy; or, the Death and Despair of Jail Inmates
A Tragedy, Upon a Tragedy, Upon Another Tragedy; or, the Death and Despair of Jail Inmates
Law professor Ron Beal argues that Gov. Abbott, under the cover of the pandemic, has usurped the power of the judicial branch

Ron Beal, April 8, 2021

Opinion: Over 200,000 Asian People in Central Texas Feel the Heartache of Georgia. Do You?
Over 200,000 Asian People in Central Texas Feel the Heartache of Georgia. Do You?
Central Texas leaders and community members should stand against anti-Asian hate through specific actions

Darlene Lanham, April 1, 2021

Opinion: White Privilege in Austin’s Unhoused Community
White Privilege in Austin’s Unhoused Community
Alberta Phillips, chair of the ECHO Board of Governors, explains the kind of racism that can lock Black people into a lifetime of living unsheltered

Alberta Phillips, March 18, 2021

Opinion: Electric School Buses Are a Win for Kids’ Health, the Environment, and Our Community
Electric School Buses Are a Win for Kids’ Health, the Environment, and Our Community
There’s no safe level of exposure to diesel fumes for children, and yet our kids spend hours each week breathing fumes on diesel buses

Mary Beth Bennett, March 11, 2021

Opinion: We Need to Prioritize Our Service Workers
We Need to Prioritize Our Service Workers
Olamaie Executive Chef Michael Fojtasek: “The way to ensure the health and livelihoods of service industry people is through vaccination”

Michael Fojtasek, March 4, 2021

Opinion: The Problem in Texas Isn’t Republicans – It’s Capitalism
The Problem in Texas Isn’t Republicans – It’s Capitalism
To prevent last week's crises from recurring, we have to go beyond the Democrat vs. Republican culture wars and take back control of Texas' energy system.

Dave Pinkham, Feb. 25, 2021

Opinion: It’s Time to End the Oppressive Policing of Muslim Youth
It’s Time to End the Oppressive Policing of Muslim Youth
An organizer argues against the targeted surveillance and aggressive policing tactics being used against Muslim youth, along with their Black and brown allies

Ramish Nadeem, Feb. 18, 2021

Opinion: How to Win at Homelessness
How to Win at Homelessness
A young adult with lived experience in homelessness argues that Save Austin Now’s push to criminalize destitution is short-sighted

Summer Wright, Feb. 11, 2021

1   2   3     NEXT    3 »
NEWSLETTERS
One click gets you all the newsletters listed below

Breaking news, arts coverage, and daily events

Can't keep up with happenings around town? We can help.

Austin's queerest news and events

Eric Goodman's Austin FC column, other soccer news

Information is power. Support the free press, so we can support Austin.   Support the Chronicle